Watch Lee Sedol beat Google’s AlphaGo, and the final game

Posted By on March 14, 2016

640px-Go_game_(2094497615)

In October 2015, AlphaGo became the first computer program ever to beat a professional Go player by winning 5-0 against the reigning 3-times European Champion Fan Hui (2-dan pro). That work was featured in a front cover article in the science journal Nature in January 2016.

Watch DeepMind’s program AlphaGo take on the legendary Lee Sedol (9-dan pro), the top Go player of the past decade, in a $1M 5-game challenge match in Seoul. This is the livestream for Match 4 where Lee Sedol finally beat the AI:

The final game can be seen on this livestream for Match 5 to be played on: 15th March 13:00 KST (local), 04:00 GMT; note for US viewers this is the day before on: 14th March21:00 PT, 00:00 ET.

***

Nikolas Badminton is a world-respected futurist speaker that researches, speaks, and writes about the future of work, how technology is affecting the workplace, how workers are adapting, the sharing economy, and how the world is evolving. He appears at conferences in Canada, USA, UK, and Europe. Email him to book him for your radio, TV show, or conference.


Like the story? Post comment using disqus.